-- still peeing inside; please help find what I'm missing
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: -- still peeing inside; please help find what I'm missing

Question -- still peeing inside; please help find what I'm missing

Hi, newbie here. We adopted 2 abandoned mixed breed puppies about 2 weeks ago. Chance and Lucky (females) are about 7 to 8 weeks old now, we believe. They were checked out by vet and got a good bill of health.

As we live in the country and are away from the house all day with our jobs (teachers), the puppies have a fenced area that is plenty big for living, sleeping, playing, hanging out, pooping, feeding, etc. As the weather is comfortable, they sleep outside at night, too. They have a warm place to cuddle up together.

We started out crating them when we first brought them home. They slept most of the time and we were home the first few days during spring break. Now that we are back to work, they are outside all day. When we get up in the morning, we bring them inside to play and get some loving until we leave for the day. Then, when we get home, they come in and out with us to play, hang out, go for walks, etc. They are fed outside.

I've read some forums here already and am trying to figure out what I need to work on.

They are peeing inside when we bring them in! Please let me know what I'm missing:
    -- I believe I need to constrain them to a small area where they can play, hang out and sleep in their crate but where I can keep an eye on them so if I see a squat, I can quickly pick them up and take them outside.
    -- We've been letting them roam when they are inside and that isn't working; I'm going crazy keeping an eye on them.
    -- When I take them outside, I should wait until they finish their pee and praise and give a treat. If I don't catch them in the act, I can't scold.
    -- I can use the bell at the door trick, too. That's fine and clever.