pound puppy habits Help!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: pound puppy habits Help!

pound puppy habits Help!

Hi there,

This is my first time at this site and it's already helped

We are a family with four children so all of my concerns about our new pup mostly revolve around his behaviour around the kids.

We have a 2 year old jackrussel-pug(Pip), that is well behaved and house trained. We adopted Zorro (german shepard cross) 5 weeks ago at the ripe age of 6 months-ish. He'd been impounded for 5 weeks. He's an extremely happy puppy, even being happy when he's in trouble. Both males were neutered together 10 days ago.

Now to the habits...

Zorro came to us with some obsessive behaviour which I assume stems from being kenneled for so long. He paces. He paces and paces without resting. Along with the pacing he drinks water obsessively. At first he would drink so much water that he'd need out every 10 minutes or risk wetting in the house. I have put him on a water schedule which seems to have improved this but exacerbated the pacing.

The other problem we are having is with aggression. Like I said, he`s a happy puppy so this isn`t a mean aggression it seems more of a dominance aggression. He often will body check the kids and knock them over, nip at their clothes (we`ve gotten him to stop biting at skin) and jump at them. Hès not a heavy dog, but he`s quite tall so this is scaring the kids alot. With the Pug he treats him like a chew toy, he`s constantly chasing him and biting at him and gets all playful crazy barking and boucing and racing around the house uncontrollably, which then scares the kids.

I would love some advice. He`s such a smart dog with so much potantial but my protect my kids instinct is ruining the family relationship with Zorro. We do plan to attend obedience classes but they don`t start until feb. I can`t wait until then..

Thank you.

Valerie

2. Remove Advertisements

Hi Valerie,